The Rare Witch Project Forums

The Rare Witch Project Forums (https://www.therwp.com/forums/index.php)
-   The Banjo Kazooie Series (https://www.therwp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Banjo's Backpack (Previously Mumbo's Wand) Coming May 31st (https://www.therwp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51525)

Coolboyman 31st May 2013 09:53 PM

I'm going to set you all up with a version of Sketchup that exports .obj files. If you dont know how to make a model with sketchup google some tutorials.

DementedSun 31st May 2013 10:07 PM

Also, I haven't read any tutorials on this, but I thought you could change the textures?


By the way, Anim8or exports in .obj, and it's /really/ easy to use for beginners, since it's what it's meant for :p. If Sketchup is too hard for people. I also noticed in this, sometimes warps work and sometimes it doesn't, I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

EDIT: Just tried to import .obj files to no success :C. "Unable to convert OBJ file" It wasn't even that large, just a quick little test of boxes.

Smouvy 31st May 2013 10:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158426)
I think I've already found a little bug. You can't rename levels with more characters than they already have.

This is not a bug. This is there for the same reasons you can't have levels larger than the original ones. Everything you edit and change has to fit in the ROM that Banjo-Kazooie already has.

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 10:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coolboyman (Post 1158441)
I'm going to set you all up with a version of Sketchup that exports .obj files. If you dont know how to make a model with sketchup google some tutorials.

That'd be great, since I'm already used to using SketchUp. Thanks, man. We all you a lot for this.

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158444)
Also, I haven't read any tutorials on this, but I thought you could change the textures?


By the way, Anim8or exports in .obj, and it's /really/ easy to use for beginners, since it's what it's meant for :p. If Sketchup is too hard for people. I also noticed in this, sometimes warps work and sometimes it doesn't, I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong.

Not a fan of Anim8or, used it before and it's too simple.

Coolboyman 31st May 2013 10:31 PM

Here's a tutorial on how to use Sketchup with Banjo's Backpack.
http://rarewarecentral.com/forums/sh...d.php?p=143671

DementedSun 31st May 2013 10:34 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158447)

Not a fan of Anim8or, used it before and it's too simple.

I was just suggesting it because I know it's very simple, :P. Is the version of Sketchup that Google shows me able to export as .obj? Gotta download it and learn it now :X. I dunno why BB won't let me import .obj files though, odd. I have a bunch of old models I tried too to see if it would work with anything.

Coolboyman 31st May 2013 10:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158453)
Is the version of Sketchup that Google shows me able to export as .obj?.

I give people some plugins that allow Sketchup to export the models into obj files.

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 10:41 PM

Thanks, CBM.

I'd also just like to share a little story - I put a huge Scabby in Spiral Mountain, and when I killed it it was probably stuck in the ground and not high enough, so it just kept spinning indefinitely until it crashed. Kinda funny.

DementedSun 31st May 2013 10:42 PM

Sweet, I just noticed it after I posted :P. Any idea of why it doesn't import obj files from other programs? I half assume it's because I didn't have any texture set, but figured it would do so even without one.

EDIT: OH, never mind. Just went wire frame mode and realized they weren't triangulated. -facepalm-

EDIT 2: Even triangulated it is unsuccessful :(.

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 11:25 PM

I made the obj file, I loaded it into the model editor, saved it as a bin file, and when I loaded the setup, all the objects cleared but Spiral Mountain remained the same and my objects/setup where nowhere to be found.

DementedSun 31st May 2013 11:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158461)
I made the obj file, I loaded it into the model editor, saved it as a bin file, and when I loaded the setup, all the objects cleared but Spiral Mountain remained the same and my objects/setup where nowhere to be found.

I made a small level too, and can't seem to place it in the actual level, or use it to replace the level. (it's not even close to being as big/bigger than the level)

Like, it's in the model importer, and shows correct collision mapping and such, but how do you get it into the actual level??

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 11:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158464)
I made a small level too, and can't seem to place it in the actual level, or use it to replace the level. (it's not even close to being as big/bigger than the level)

Like, it's in the model importer, and shows correct collision mapping and such, but how do you get it into the actual level??

We're idiots...

http://rarewarecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7123

The things on the bottom right are what we use.

Smouvy 31st May 2013 11:40 PM

Been messing around with Bob-omb battlefield to get the hang of the program piece by piece. So far so good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HTLF_rXolPw

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 11:47 PM

Oh my good lord! I replaced SM so now the opening cutscene is effed up! Ha!

DementedSun 31st May 2013 11:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158466)
We're idiots...

http://rarewarecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7123

The things on the bottom right are what we use.

That's what I was doing. :p. Not sure how to texture it, actually. I think that's why it wouldn't load anything but an empty space. I did the tutorial thing and it worked so far, so. Experimenting time!

Ty-chan 31st May 2013 11:58 PM

I keep falling through the freaking floor.

Coolboyman 31st May 2013 11:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158473)
I keep falling through the freaking floor.

You can go to Rarewarecentral and submit a bug report. It easily helps us keep track.

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 12:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coolboyman (Post 1158474)
You can go to Rarewarecentral and submit a bug report. It easily helps us keep track.

No, I mean Banjo keeps falling through the floor of my custom map like its not a solid. I'm not sure if its a bug I might just be doing something wrong.

DementedSun 1st June 2013 12:11 AM

Hmm, it keeps saying my level is too big, when it's essentially no bigger than say, Blubber's ship. I'm trying to put it in TTC but it won't let me do it, :X.

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 12:12 AM

I fall through some of the floors... but not all of them?

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158475)
No, I mean Banjo keeps falling through the floor of my custom map like its not a solid. I'm not sure if its a bug I might just be doing something wrong.

Sounds like you're using double sided collision.

DementedSun 1st June 2013 12:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoldenJiggies (Post 1158478)
I fall through some of the floors... but not all of them?


did you make sure they have ground collision?

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 12:32 AM

He's not falling through any of them, but he's acting differently on all three of the platforms.

On the first one he keeps trying to fall through but doesn't, on the second he walks on it really slowly like he's constantly colliding with it, and on the third he walks normally fine.

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 12:34 AM

Make sure that Banjo is touching the white side of the triangles in sketchup. If he touched the purple/glowing side he will fall through. You can swap sides by right clicking the face and selecting "reverse faces". I'll add this to the tutorial.

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 12:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coolboyman (Post 1158488)
Make sure that Banjo is touching the white side of the triangles in sketchup. If he touched the purple/glowing side he will fall through. You can swap sides by right clicking the face and selecting "reverse faces". I'll add this to the tutorial.

Is that really the problem!? Thanks. :)

DementedSun 1st June 2013 01:35 AM

Ugh, I made a decent test level but it's telling me it's too big for every level. Even CCW.

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 01:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158492)
Ugh, I made a decent test level but it's telling me it's too big for every level. Even CCW.

Try Rusty Bucket Bay.

There wont be any size limitations in the future. For now you can get rid of a few things if it still doesnt fit in RBB.

DementedSun 1st June 2013 01:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coolboyman (Post 1158493)
Try Rusty Bucket Bay.

There wont be any size limitations in the future. For now you can get rid of a few things if it still doesnt fit in RBB.

It's just a few platforms I made for spring jumping, and it doesn't fit in TTC, @_@. When it opens you can see it's not even close to being as big as the map, it's so confusing, haha.

EDIT: tried RBB to no avail.

EDIT 2: I decided to just move it around and erase bottom edges and named the file "I give up" and it worked. This will take some getting used to, :p.

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 01:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158496)
It's just a few platforms I made for spring jumping, and it doesn't fit in TTC, @_@. When it opens you can see it's not even close to being as big as the map, it's so confusing, haha.

EDIT: tried RBB to no avail.

Can you attach your model? That might be a problem with the program, I'm hoping not.

DementedSun 1st June 2013 02:15 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coolboyman (Post 1158498)
Can you attach your model? That might be a problem with the program, I'm hoping not.


Sure. Do you want the .obj, or the bin? I also tried to make it more sizable to banjos size as it was too small, and even making it a single size or two bigger makes it 'too big' for rusty bucket bay. No clue why, it really isn't that huge :C.

I'll edit the files on this post. Ugh can't upload here, it's slightly too big.

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 02:26 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DementedSun (Post 1158500)
Sure. Do you want the .obj, or the bin? I also tried to make it more sizable to banjos size as it was too small, and even making it a single size or two bigger makes it 'too big' for rusty bucket bay. No clue why, it really isn't that huge :C.

I'll edit the files on this post. Ugh can't upload here, it's slightly too big.

email me both at coolboyman@gmail.com

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 02:29 AM

How do we add BK textures into our object files/setups?

DementedSun 1st June 2013 02:34 AM

Alright. I sent them. It's probably something I'm doing wrong, but I honestly can't seem to figure it out, when a single size change makes it too large for a huge map that could completely engulf it..

Also, what he said^ Unless we need to have them extracted. I remember extracting a bunch of Rare textures years ago but don't think I have the zips anymore.

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 02:35 AM

Get that here:
http://www.therwp.com/downloads/banj...a-texture-pack

Then create a new material and use these.

DementedSun 1st June 2013 03:12 AM

I think I figured out what it is. If you start in the corner making a map in Sketchup, it puts it where the default start position in BB is, at 0,0,0. So if any of your pieces extend past any boundary at that point, it calls it too big. There's no way to move the map around in BB, is there? Seems like the only way is to move it in a program like Sketchup first, guessing to where it will be in the map to get the most out of the space.

Only thing I could see as being a problem, as part of my platform originally crossed the line in Sketchup, but I figured when imported to BB it would load directly in the middle of the map.

This would also make sense, as I originally had a pretty large flooring so you don't just fall into nothingness, and that presumably would have clipped through the bottom edges of the original world, I guess.


Teeny version just because it works, and I figured out how to change texture UV coordinates in Sketchup, @_@. I forgot most of the stuff I learned in 2006 about any kind of 3D-modeling, haha.


EDIT: Found the problem: IT IS because it's positioning it outside the level. This would obviously fit in Mumbo's Mountain (I left all the entities on to see if this was the case), except when you make it larger, it seems to throw it way out of bounds, for whatever reason. Idk if I'm missing it, but there must be a way to move it into location better? Am I just blind and missing it, Coolboyman ?

Coolboyman 1st June 2013 04:32 AM

You can move the level around in import mode. Check all of those options.

Skill 1st June 2013 05:08 AM

Hi DementedSun,

I have taken a look at your model file and quickly looked at the UVs they were very large i have shrunk them down, unfortunately i wasn't sure of how the model looked originally.

I also have looked at your collision issues.

The problem there is that there are some faces on top of each other with the normals facing different ways, this causes an issue in Banjo Kazooie, as BB will generate collision triangles for all faces unless you set them to not solid.

I deleted them and loaded it into the game to test it seems fine. I didn't have any of the other problems you had.


Here is the download for the obj and bins let me know if there are still problems or you want me to go over anything with you on it.

I know some of you will be on here and not RWC it does make things easier for us if these problems are posted there. But thats fine CBM will be able to help you on here with any problems you guys have.


Download:


http://rarewarecentral.com/files/dementedsun.zip

DementedSun 1st June 2013 05:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Skill (Post 1158516)
Hi DementedSun,

I have taken a look at your model file and quickly looked at the UVs they were very large i have shrunk them down, unfortunately i wasn't sure of how the model looked originally.

I also have looked at your collision issues.

The problem there is that there are some faces on top of each other with the normals facing different ways, this causes an issue in Banjo Kazooie, as BB will generate collision triangles for all faces unless you set them to not solid.

I deleted them and loaded it into the game to test it seems fine. I didn't have any of the other problems you had.

Oh, and the one part in the tutorial where you make the snow overlap the green. Not really sure how that works, aside from only being able to do that in the tutorial. I think all it did in my tests were make my objects transparent.


Here is the download for the obj and bins let me know if there are still problems or you want me to go over anything with you on it.

I know some of you will be on here and not RWC it does make things easier for us if these problems are posted there. But thats fine CBM will be able to help you on here with any problems you guys have.


Download:


http://rarewarecentral.com/files/dementedsun.zip

Thanks! After a few hours of messing with it, the only problem I seem to have is getting the new map to load in the center of the pre-existing one, cause otherwise it get's marked as too large, :x. I tried finding the coordinates of an existing entity and moving the map while importing to those coordinates, but they didn't seem to match. I guess just getting it as close as possible to the Banjo default model location works best.

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 01:11 PM

Oh, it's that simple? Thanks, CBM. We really need to repay you in some way for all the help your giving us and for BB alone - but I guess the best way to do that is to just get you some complete levels for you to play, isn't it? ;)

EDIT: Just to let everyone know, in order for Spiral Mountain molehills to work you need to have the start molehill first - probably because they use flags that check whether the player asked for a tutorial to begin with - so if the flag is never set Bottles just stands there and scratches his head and the game never decides what to do.

Ty-chan 1st June 2013 06:55 PM

The Jump molehill keeps looping at the head scratch animation even though I've already talked to the start one.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:49 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Google Authenticator verification provided by Two-Factor Authentication (Free) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2022 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.