The Rare Witch Project Forums

The Rare Witch Project Forums (https://www.therwp.com/forums/index.php)
-   Banjo Theories & Stop 'n' Swop (https://www.therwp.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=30)
-   -   DK64 - Ice Key Discovery (https://www.therwp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=18876)

ssj 24th July 2008 01:03 PM

If you change 0008 to FFFF you get ''NO''
If you change 0008 to FFFE you get ''YES''
FFFD- TRY AGAIN
FFFC- ALL kongs
FFFB- Chunky kong
FFFA- Tiny Kong
FFF9- LANKY kong
FFF8- Diddy kong
FFF7- Donkey kong
FFF6- Quit, Yes no?
FFF5- Are you sure
FFF4- Totals
FFF3- Exit to level
FFF2- Restart
FFF1- Quit game
FFF0- Exit Level
FFEF- Save
FFEE- Return
FFED- Freeze
FFEC- Freeze
FFEB-Freeze
FFEA- !
FFE9 Freeze

Vect 01 24th July 2008 09:35 PM

I'm not sure, naturally I'm skeptical, and something's telling me that it might be simply an accidental re-name.

Don't get me wrong, I WANT this to be SnS, but I never rule out a possibility.

I'm not hacker, but I'll do my best to help you in any way that I can, that is, if you want my help :)

chillywilly42 24th July 2008 10:28 PM

Amazing job rune! Just goes to show you the more effort you put in to something(in this case SNS discoveries) the more you get out! :)

ssj 24th July 2008 10:56 PM

Ive been looking at the menus table in artmoney today rune, tried changing a few things but had no luck

Avarice 25th July 2008 12:08 AM

Looked just like a text change to me...

Sojiroh 25th July 2008 12:24 AM

Rune, as always, you fail to disappoint me

Kazooie64 25th July 2008 12:26 AM

Nice job!

ssj 25th July 2008 12:38 AM

more menu research

807FC8** 0008

00- Freezes at jungle japes menu
01-Nothing
02- same till 08
08- Puts the C buttons behind the text
09- c buttons closer to text

maybe these 2 digits are the ones we need to focus on. maybe we need to keep the last four digits as 0008, which works as both text AND the 2d image for the Ice key. Somehwere within the previous 2 digits (between 00 and FF) The could be a 2d image mod for the totals menu, and thats where we'll find our ice key image.

runehero123 25th July 2008 03:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dylan yoshi
Looked just like a text change to me...

Its nothing like a text change. All that would be is taking text values and replacing them with some other text. Like the ice-keys. The thing is, if it was only a text change the ice-key wouldn't show 1/1 collected.

With those values ssj showed, they are just different menu ID's for different text and items that are displayed elsewhere in the menu. The value I provided 0x0008 will display the Icekey menu item on the screen.

SSj, I'm going to try and get more than just an image mod for the ice-key. I want to use ASM to try and fully activate the Ice-key in the menu. Not just it's image.

From looking further with the asm it seems like there is an op-code(command) that adds the value 0x0001 to R0(always 0x0000) and stores it to the ice-key amount address during that screen I showed in the first post.

My theory is that, you always have 1/1 ice-keys but you need to swap the ice-key flag from bk in order to activate it in the menu. So figuring out how the menu activates other items (aka golden bananas, battle crowns) in the menu through ASM should lead me to this information.

[Edit] SUBDRAG, the "have everything unlocked" code is provided in the Project: 64 1.6 cheat menu. Just grab the have golden bananas or whatever for Dk64. I haven't seen a code that unlocks everything though..

Strandomguy 25th July 2008 11:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kowz (Post 376804)
Read the topic; the actual image hasn't been found yet. :/

Oops sorry, i didn' mean that. what i meant is the 'symbol' in the total page that shows the ice key. What i mean is if you can have the boss key AND the ice key on the same total page

ssj 25th July 2008 05:39 PM

The question is, where in crystal caverns will the ice key be activated? Perhaps one of the doors in crystal caverns lobby that dont do anything?

torrentstorm 25th July 2008 05:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ssj (Post 377980)
The question is, where in crystal caverns will the ice key be activated? Perhaps one of the doors in crystal caverns lobby that dont do anything?

Hmm i can do some research on that, i will go near every single wall in that level, even underwater.

ssj 25th July 2008 05:59 PM

that wont work, because it needs to be properly activated 1st

xxjoesusxx 25th July 2008 07:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ssj (Post 377984)
that wont work, because it needs to be properly activated 1st

no doors, if the developers used dk64 to test sns, and then removed it from the game very early, why would they leave behind a locked door for an item you can never get ?

Dont waste your time looking.

Glaber 25th July 2008 08:26 PM

same reason they left the stop n swop stuff in B-K.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.