Rare Witch Roundtable Podcast
Go Back   The Rare Witch Project Forums > Gaming > Rare & Playtonic > Homebrew Games and Tools

Homebrew Games and Tools If you've created a trainer, texture editor, or a full-blown fangame we'd like to see it here. Show off your mad programming skills.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #511  
Old 25th August 2009, 11:21 PM
runehero123's Avatar
runehero123 runehero123 is offline
DJ Jamjars
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Look behind you...
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojobojo
So what exactly dose the rom expander do?
Well, the name is misleading. I was suppose to make it expand or de-compress the entire rom so you could use it in bottles glasses. However, I felt that it would be better if the decompression code was implemented into BG itself. That way the program would decompress files as needed.

Anyways, the program in the zip file just allows a user to extract files at the end of ROM that aren't accessible with Sub's decompressor. As you can see, I've already included said files in the zip.

Last edited by runehero123; 25th August 2009 at 11:24 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #512  
Old 26th August 2009, 12:39 AM
mojobojo's Avatar
mojobojo mojobojo is offline
Dingpot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgia
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Quote:
Originally Posted by runehero123 View Post
Well, the name is misleading. I was suppose to make it expand or de-compress the entire rom so you could use it in bottles glasses. However, I felt that it would be better if the decompression code was implemented into BG itself. That way the program would decompress files as needed.

Anyways, the program in the zip file just allows a user to extract files at the end of ROM that aren't accessible with Sub's decompressor. As you can see, I've already included said files in the zip.
OK, it is a good Idea to incorporate the decompression in BG, it would be like the UOT.
Reply With Quote


  #513  
Old 26th August 2009, 02:19 AM
cooliscool's Avatar
cooliscool cooliscool is offline
Dingpot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC, USA
Total Awards: 2
You're Appreciated! INFECTED - B1K1 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mojobojo View Post
So what exactly dose the rom expander do?

cooliscool

Ive noticed some texture stretching in some models

194F60


444270


B43A00


B74FB8 (Really Stretched)


C76D28


7796E0


and I'm working on the BKmodels INI file a bit more too. I will post it when I am finished.

EDIT:
Here is the updated INI file. Its not a major update but I renamed some Models and named some Unknowns.
Thanks. I noticed that error shortly after the last release; it's been fixed for a while now. The new release isn't quite ready though.
Reply With Quote


  #514  
Old 27th August 2009, 02:14 AM
Breegullbeak's Avatar
Breegullbeak Breegullbeak is offline
Rare Witch Hero
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: A Light House below a city
Total Awards: 10
You're Appreciated! Bashful Imagination Game On Reminiscence 
We can wait. I'm content with the current version.

Hopefully TT64 will get it's long awaited update soon(I doubt it though.) so I can use the models with the importer.
__________________
From where you're kneeling, it must seem like an 18-carat run of bad luck. Truth is... the game was rigged from the start -Benny
Reply With Quote


  #515  
Old 2nd September 2009, 06:18 PM
stickman's Avatar
stickman stickman is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Hood, NY
Great work cooliscool! In future releases, will there be better .obj export compatibility? I tried to export numerous models, but the geometry is a bit messed up.

Here is what I am talking about. http://i685.photobucket.com/albums/v...man221/bk1.png

Or is it just a problem with me?
Thanks!
__________________
Blog | YouTube Channel | Power Nation
Reply With Quote


  #516  
Old 2nd September 2009, 09:23 PM
cooliscool's Avatar
cooliscool cooliscool is offline
Dingpot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC, USA
Total Awards: 2
You're Appreciated! INFECTED - B1K1 
That's a bug that only occurs when exporting animated models. Stationary items like levels should export perfectly. Still working on fixing animated models, and as soon as I do I'll make a new release.
Reply With Quote


  #517  
Old 2nd September 2009, 10:13 PM
stickman's Avatar
stickman stickman is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Hood, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooliscool View Post
That's a bug that only occurs when exporting animated models. Stationary items like levels should export perfectly. Still working on fixing animated models, and as soon as I do I'll make a new release.
That is great to hear. Thank you very much.
__________________
Blog | YouTube Channel | Power Nation
Reply With Quote


  #518  
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:24 AM
Porygon Porygon is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
The .mtl file is supposed to tell the program where all the textures belong on the .obj, correct? Does anybody know how to get the textures on the .obj using 3DS max? I tried importing the .mtl after having already brought in the .obj but it doesn't seem to work. (I'm not exactly a "pro" when it comes to 3-D software.)
Reply With Quote


  #519  
Old 3rd September 2009, 01:45 AM
mojobojo's Avatar
mojobojo mojobojo is offline
Dingpot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgia
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Porygon View Post
The .mtl file is supposed to tell the program where all the textures belong on the .obj, correct? Does anybody know how to get the textures on the .obj using 3DS max? I tried importing the .mtl after having already brought in the .obj but it doesn't seem to work. (I'm not exactly a "pro" when it comes to 3-D software.)
What application are you using? I'm using 3DS Max 2010 and its working fine.
Reply With Quote


  #520  
Old 3rd September 2009, 02:03 AM
Porygon Porygon is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Version 9. I'm under the impression that importing the .mtl isn't bringing the textures in with it. I'm sure I'm missing something very obvious.
Reply With Quote


  #521  
Old 3rd September 2009, 04:28 AM
stickman's Avatar
stickman stickman is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Hood, NY
are the textures in the same directory as the .obj and the the .mtl?
__________________
Blog | YouTube Channel | Power Nation
Reply With Quote


  #522  
Old 3rd September 2009, 05:02 AM
Porygon Porygon is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Yes. Am I supposed to import the folder somehow, rather than the .obj and .mtl at separate times?
Reply With Quote


  #523  
Old 3rd September 2009, 05:35 AM
Brian's Avatar
Brian Brian is offline
Rare Witch Hero
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Middlesex County, Nu Joisey
Total Awards: 6
You're Appreciated! INFECTED - B2K1 Reminiscence Chatterbox Grey Note Medal 
On Lightwave, I have to bring in all of the textures manually.
Reply With Quote


  #524  
Old 3rd September 2009, 12:22 PM
mojobojo's Avatar
mojobojo mojobojo is offline
Dingpot
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Georgia
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
This is what I do to import models to 3DS Max

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQGmlaf5tPk
Reply With Quote


  #525  
Old 4th September 2009, 03:58 AM
Porygon Porygon is offline
Glowbo
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Total Awards: 1
INFECTED - B1K1 
Thanks for going through the trouble of making a video. I was under the impression the .mtl file was used to tell all the textures where to go. I was trying to import fairly large objects (level-sized things) which is why I wasn't doing the textures manually.
Reply With Quote


Reply


User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 02:00 PM.


Forums powered by vBulletin® Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website © 2000-2015 The RWP