Rare Witch Roundtable Podcast
Go Back   The Rare Witch Project Forums > Gaming > Rare & Playtonic

Rare & Playtonic Discuss anything Rare related, from classic Rareware to the Golden(eye) era or even some of their later projects. If it's Rare it's here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 20th April 2017, 11:49 PM
CoolJosh3k's Avatar
CoolJosh3k CoolJosh3k is offline
Most Helpful Member '10 - '11
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne
Total Awards: 8
INFECTED - B2K1 Game On RWP Donator Viva Piñata TiP Mastery Viva Piñata Mastery 
Question Accessing the test world?

Here I am, back after ... so many years.

I am wondering if the test level still exists in the game and how one might access it. Until a method such as wrong warps comes about, I realised I could trick the game into loading me into areas via the "CurrentHubSection" save data.

So far I have this:

Code:
000: Ship Wreck Creek at Game Start Rock
001: Hivory Towers normal entry
002: Hivory Towers Factory entry
003: Hivory Towers Part 2 after quiz 2
004: World 1 Book Exit
005: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
006: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
007: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
008: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
009: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
010: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
011: Soft lock
012: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
013: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
014: Soft lock
015: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
016: Soft lock
017: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
018: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
019: Ship Wreck Creek black screen
Hoping to explore more with some team effort, or someone finds a way to easily get the ids or them all in one fell swoop.

For now you can test by:


Quote:
1. Save file is at C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\userdata\###\360830\remote. Make sure you backup all files!
2. In your slot0.dat file find what should be line 4584 and tweak that number. This is the last hub as far as where to load you into when resuming your game file. You can test via a known number to make sure it works for you.

Here is hoping something can be found.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #2  
Old 21st April 2017, 07:14 PM
Smouvy's Avatar
Smouvy Smouvy is offline 1 Highscore
Rare Witch Hero
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Total Awards: 15
Mystery Four Mystery Three Mystery Two Mystery One INFECTED - B2K1 
I don't know anything to help you, but welcome back Cooljosh
__________________
YouTubeFacebookTwitter 2707 - 1594 - 7655
♥,| |╮
︵(●○● )︵
\_(❀❀) _/
/ ◯◯ \
☄╯  ╰ シ
Reply With Quote


  #3  
Old 21st April 2017, 09:06 PM
Coolboyman's Avatar
Coolboyman Coolboyman is offline 1 Highscore
Best Rarely Active Member '11 - '12
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The East Bay, CA
Total Awards: 4
Game On RWP Podcast INFECTED - B1K1 Awesome Default Medal 
I looked at the level files and it doesn't look like "test" exists. There appears to be some empty levels but nothing that's a test level that you can walk around in. Here's what I found:

0: Frontend
1: ?
2: File Select
3: ?
4: Hivory Towers A
5: Hivory Towers B
6: Hivory Towers C
7: Tribalstack Tropics
8: Tribalstack Tropics extended
9: ?
10: Glitterglaze Glacier
11: Glitterglaze Glacier Extended
12: Moodymaze Marsh
13: Moodymaze Marsh Extended
14: Capital Cashino
15: Capital Cashino Extended
16: Galleon Galaxy
17: Galleon Galaxy Extended
18: Final Boss
19: Quiz 1
20: Quiz 2
21: Quiz 3
22: Arcade Frontend
23-30: Arcade Games
31: ?
32-40: Arcade Game References?
41: ?

Last edited by Coolboyman; 21st April 2017 at 09:22 PM.
Reply With Quote


  #4  
Old 22nd April 2017, 03:30 PM
CoolJosh3k's Avatar
CoolJosh3k CoolJosh3k is offline
Most Helpful Member '10 - '11
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Melbourne
Total Awards: 8
INFECTED - B2K1 Game On RWP Donator Viva Piñata TiP Mastery Viva Piñata Mastery 
Thanks.
Was that there clear text in the scene files? Or were you able to load something into the Unity editor?

Still, I do wonder if there is some hub location that is unused, but still able to be triggered this way.
__________________
Reply With Quote


  #5  
Old 23rd April 2017, 02:24 AM
Coolboyman's Avatar
Coolboyman Coolboyman is offline 1 Highscore
Best Rarely Active Member '11 - '12
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: The East Bay, CA
Total Awards: 4
Game On RWP Podcast INFECTED - B1K1 Awesome Default Medal 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolJosh3k View Post
Thanks.
Was that there clear text in the scene files? Or were you able to load something into the Unity editor?

Still, I do wonder if there is some hub location that is unused, but still able to be triggered this way.
There's clear text in the level files, but it's for the objects spread throughout the worlds. I looked at the combined meshes in the level files to determine which worlds they were.
Reply With Quote


Reply


User Tag List

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 AM.


Forums powered by vBulletin® Copyright © Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Website © 2000-2015 The RWP