Rare Witch Roundtable Podcast
Go Back   The Rare Witch Project Forums > Gaming > Rare & Playtonic > Banjo Theories & Stop 'n' Swop

Banjo Theories & Stop 'n' Swop SNS? Bottle's Revenge? Share your thoughts on the mysteries of the Banjo series and discuss the new Stop 'n' Swop features in Nuts and Bolts and the XBLA games

Old 7th August 2006, 11:03 AM
Glowbo

I believe in Stop 'N' Swop!

I want to help find it, but I'm not sure what I can do. I'm not a very profiecient hacker, but I do have a Gameshark so I could use it to explore areas not meant to be seen.

But, since I'm new, let me give my own personal take on SnS and you guys can tell me what's fact, what's rumor, and what's just false.

Stop 'N' Swop was created by Rare as a means of "linking" together Banjo-Kazooie and Banjo-Tooie by means of unlocking special items in BK that could be used in BT. The items included are four eggs and an ice key. However, Rare knew that BT wouldn't be done for a long time and they didn't want hackers to spoil the fun, so they created two "bad eggs" that would ruin the whole thing if they were collected. They only way that we were supposed to know which passwords to use in the Sandcastle House in TTC were by means of Blackeye The Pirate telling us in BT after we performed certain events.

However, certain changes were made to the N64 hardware that made it difficult if not impossible to make the connection between BK and BT, and so Rare eventually trashed the project in favor of an entirely unexciting way of collecting a couple eggs and the ice key in BT instead of BK.

Now what's left is a half-complete design somewhere in the bowels of BK and that's what everyone is searching for. Finding the mythical "SnS Room" is the reward for finding the mythical "SnS Room": There is no significant reason for looking -- it was removed from BT -- other than simply wanting to find it.